Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Post your hints / tips, Guides ie, Chopper / Plane Guides etc etc

Moderators: Moderators, Chief Of Staff

Forum rules
THIS FORUM IS MODERATED

Keep all Posts / Topics Related to the FORUM description. Anybody that posts un-related content will have their post moved or removed by a moderator and potentially receive a warning to reflect this action.

Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Topchaz » 05 Sep 2008 02:33

Howdy.

Today i've been loading into games super quick after map changes. I'm now getting into the 'spawn select' screen before the map even starts! :o So now i'm one of the first guys spawning wheras before there were normally 8-12 people on my team spawning before me. Now i've only changed 2 things on my computer recently -

1) Swapping AVG anti-virus for Avast anti virus
2) Tweaking Punkbuster

Now it aint gonna be number 1 so that just leaves number 2. I found this on http://www.secretsofbattlefield.com

BF2 Tweaking

Reduce the Number of Punkbuster Checks: Punkbuster, as you probably
know, is the anti cheating software which comes bundled with BF2 and
is required to play on all ranked servers and most public servers.
Punkbuster scans your hard-drive for problems every 20 seconds. As you
may have guessed, this causes a lot of lag. What we are going to do in
this fix is to increase the amount of time in between punkbuster checks
to 500 seconds (the maximum amount so don't try anything higher lol).
By the way, in case you were worried, this is 100% safe with punkbuster,
and will NOT cause any problems with Punkbuster thinking you are a
cheater. Punkbuster even recommends this fix on their website. To do
this you need to:

Join any BF2 online server which is running punkbuster, preferably a
ranked one.

Once you are in, and respawned somewhere, press the `~(Tilda) key.
This key is located on most keyboards above the tab key and to the
left of the 1 key.
A large white box should drop down with a load of text in it. Type
pb_sleep500 and hit the enter key.
Once you have done this, make sure the box is still up and type
pb_writecfg to save your settings.



It's quicker for me because its now much faster 'verifying client data', the "loading objects/textures etc" bar still seems to take the same amount of time. Now I don't know if it will do anything beneficial for anyone else, but it's probably worth giving it a shot if you have a good PC and are taking ages to load in.

Good luck people

Topchaz
Image
Image
User avatar
Topchaz
Recruiter
Recruiter
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: 17 May 2008 02:24
Location: Manchester, England
BF 2 Player Name: Topchaz
BF 2142 Soldier Name: Topchaz
COD 4 Name: Topchaz
Recruiters name: Exoduus
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby frombehind » 05 Sep 2008 14:19

for those with older or slow harddrives it makes a massive boost to increase the pb sleep time on any pb game but dropping agv will help too as its an intrusive av, saying that so is avast.

i used to use avast and swapping to nod32 dropped my ping too.
User avatar
frombehind
Trainer
Trainer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: 22 Aug 2008 01:02
BF 2 Player Name: marsey99
BF 2142 Soldier Name: marsey99
COD 4 Name: frombehind
Reason for signing up?: Forum Access Only

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Flyin_Aces » 05 Sep 2008 16:05

i'll try this next time im on bf2 as my computer runs bf2 "JUST" so should be a big help as my map loading time takes ages cheers chaz
Flyin_Aces
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 28 Jun 2008 03:20
BF 2 Player Name: Flyin_Aces
BF 2142 Soldier Name: n/a
COD 4 Name: n/a
Recruiters name: Exoduss
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby TDXUK » 05 Sep 2008 17:37

This is a definate yes, i've used the pb tweak for quite sometime now but forget to re-apply it sometimes after re-installs.

It will also help for some kicks by punkbuster, i think this is stated somewhere. also as said will help with hard disk and cpu activity on older machines, mine being an athlon64 :lol: helps a great deal. I'm guessing that its not so noticeable with better rigs but it may help for net traffic.
User avatar
TDXUK
War Arranger
War Arranger
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 23 Dec 2007 18:23
Location: Portsmouth
BF 2 Player Name: TDXUK
BF 2142 Soldier Name: TDXUK

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Dutchie » 06 Sep 2008 12:35

This seems to be worth a go. Thanks a bunch Chaz
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Dutchie
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 438
Joined: 29 Aug 2008 13:07
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
BF 2 Player Name: [D32M]Dutchie
BF 2142 Soldier Name: NA
COD 4 Name: NA
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby abreesa » 06 Sep 2008 13:31

WORK THE SAME IN 2142 AND PROJECT REALITY?

PR MIGHT BE UNDER SAME AS BF2 BUT NOT SURE.
++2008 Clan Meet Paintball Champion++
R.I.P UKWF GOBROT
User avatar
abreesa
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 749
Joined: 25 Feb 2007 17:04
Location: Herts
BF 2 Player Name: abreesa
BF 2142 Soldier Name: abreesa
COD 4 Name: abreesa
Recruiters name: kissmyassjack
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Flyin_Aces » 11 Sep 2008 15:06

did what you said says unknown pb command setting or somthing like that :S
Flyin_Aces
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 28 Jun 2008 03:20
BF 2 Player Name: Flyin_Aces
BF 2142 Soldier Name: n/a
COD 4 Name: n/a
Recruiters name: Exoduss
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby WREV » 11 Sep 2008 16:15

I tried it on 3 servers,couldn't get it to work,all I got was an "unknown command" message. :?
User avatar
WREV
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 21:29
Location: Somewhere on Dartmoor .
BF 2 Player Name: WREV
BF 2142 Soldier Name: wrev
COD 4 Name: WREV
Recruiters name: GerryR
Reason for signing up?: Forum Access Only

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Topchaz » 11 Sep 2008 17:04

I cant remember...make sure when you press tilde ( ` ) that there are no charachters in the line where you are typing the command. Often when i press tilde for the first time, it puts one or two ` first which messes up any commands you might type (unless you delete them before typing)

I seem to remember it gave me an ambiguous reply when i typed in the pb_sleep500 command, but when i typed in the pb_writecfg command it gave me a more relevant message, something along the lines of 'new settings saved to config'

BTW i did it on the UK Warfare public server

good luck
Image
Image
User avatar
Topchaz
Recruiter
Recruiter
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: 17 May 2008 02:24
Location: Manchester, England
BF 2 Player Name: Topchaz
BF 2142 Soldier Name: Topchaz
COD 4 Name: Topchaz
Recruiters name: Exoduus
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Flyin_Aces » 13 Sep 2008 02:43

i did it on a UK Based server but said what i mentioned without there being any `` before i wrote it so dunno why i got problems whats the difference when you type pb_writecfg ? cheers topchaz
Flyin_Aces
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 28 Jun 2008 03:20
BF 2 Player Name: Flyin_Aces
BF 2142 Soldier Name: n/a
COD 4 Name: n/a
Recruiters name: Exoduss
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby Topchaz » 13 Sep 2008 02:55

i'll take a screenshot or something over the weekend...that might help.
Image
Image
User avatar
Topchaz
Recruiter
Recruiter
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: 17 May 2008 02:24
Location: Manchester, England
BF 2 Player Name: Topchaz
BF 2142 Soldier Name: Topchaz
COD 4 Name: Topchaz
Recruiters name: Exoduus
Reason for signing up?: Joining Clan

Re: Punkbuster tweak - May help BF2 performance

Unread postby TDXUK » 13 Sep 2008 15:10

Topchaz wrote:A large white box should drop down with a load of text in it. Type
pb_sleep500 and hit the enter key.


I think you need to put a space between "sleep" and "500"
Example "pb_sleep 500", It will then say something along the lines of setting changed to 500 or something like it(can't remember).
Then type the "pb_writecfg", this will save the setting so you don't have to do it ever again unless you re-install of coarse.
abreesa wrote:WORK THE SAME IN 2142 AND PROJECT REALITY?

PR MIGHT BE UNDER SAME AS BF2 BUT NOT SURE.

Yes for 2142 not sure for PR
User avatar
TDXUK
War Arranger
War Arranger
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 23 Dec 2007 18:23
Location: Portsmouth
BF 2 Player Name: TDXUK
BF 2142 Soldier Name: TDXUK


Return to Hint's & Tips

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron